Friday, March 02, 2007

Stations of the Cross

An ancient tradition in the Catholic Church is for the faithful to "pray" the Stations of the Cross on Fridays during Lent. This is to remind us of Jesus' sacrifice: we walk in his footsteps to Golgotha, we feel Mary's sorrow when she meets her beloved son, we weep with the women of Jerusalem, we help put Jesus in the tomb and roll the stone not knowing if we will ever see our cherished Brother again ...

For children (and adults), it can be very hard to remember the 14 different stations. A few years ago, I saw this suggestion for symbols of the various stations, and have since incorporated the practice of using these symbols to help my children "pray" the Stations of the Cross.

Station 1 -- Jesus is condemned to die -- string to bind his hands

Station 2 -- Jesus takes up his Cross -- a small wooden cross

Station 3 -- Jesus falls the first time -- a band-aid

Station 4 -- Jesus meets his Mother -- a rosary

Station 5 -- Simon helps Jesus carry the cross -- a heart for charity

Station 6 -- Veronica wipes the face of Jesus -- cloth with Holy Face on it

Station 7 -- Jesus falls a second time -- a band-aid

Station 8 -- Jesus comforts the weeping women of Jerusalem -- tissues

Station 9 -- Jesus falls a third time -- a band-aid

Station 10 -- Jesus is stripped of his garments -- a piece of purple cloak

Station 11 -- Jesus is nailed to the Cross -- a large nail

Station 12 -- Jesus dies on the Cross -- a crucifix

Station 13 -- Jesus is taken down from the Cross -- a picture of the Pieta

Station 14 -- Jesus is laid in the tomb -- a rock or stone

1 comment:

The Bookworm said...

Thank you for reminding me of this! I think the idea came from someone on the Catholic Charlotte Mason email list years ago - unfortunately I can't remember who originated it. It is a great idea and they deserve the credit! I've been meaning to do it for years, but either lose the list or don't get round to it. I think now is the time.